Many of the bills passed in the recent session could have a direct impact on your daily commute. The Public Transportation Committee heard testimony on proposals from how fast you can drive to requirements to get your license.
Below are just some of the bills that have been signed into law impacting Arkansas drivers:
Act 869 provides needed changes to have the Arkansas Online Insurance Verification System implemented by January 1, 2020. This system gives law enforcement access to real-time information regarding proof of insurance.
Act 738 amends distracted driving laws to put Arkansas in compliance with National Highway Traffic Safety Administration standards. It establishes minimum fines for violating the law of $25 dollars for the first offense and $50 for subsequent offenses. Maximum fines are set at $250 for the first offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.
Act 288 makes it a primary offense to use a handheld wireless device in a school zone.
Act 550 increases the penalties for passing an authorized vehicle stopped on a highway. It increases the maximum fine from $500 to $1,000.
Act 784 states the maximum speed limit on a controlled-access highway is 75 mph if the highway is located outside an urban area and has at least 4 lanes that are divided by a median strip. This law becomes effective on July 1, 2020.
Act 364 amends the Arkansas Speed Trap Law. It requires Legislative Audit to include information to determine if a municipality is potentially abusing police power in the agency’s routine audit reports.
Act 617 eliminates the requirement for school records for those under 18 years of age to take the written test. It also states a passing score on a written driving test will be valid for 24 months.
Act 596 gives teenagers and extra 30 days after their 18th birthday to trade in their intermediate driver’s license if they have not had an accident or serious traffic violation.
Act 961 states guardians of drivers under 18 years old are no longer required to appear in person to sign the minors' driver's license applications.
Act 1031 amends the eyesight test requirement. This law states the test will be required every 8 years for individuals apply for a 4-year valid driver’s license. For those seeking an 8-year license, the eyesight test would be required once every 16 years.
Act 803 allows outstanding driver’s license reinstatement fees to be withheld from a state income tax refund.
Act 368 amends the eligibility of antique motor vehicle special license plates to vehicles that are 45 years or older at the time of application. Currently, vehicles 25 year of age or older are eligible. Those with current antique plates are not required to reapply.
For a complete list of driving regulations visit www.asp.arkansas.gov. And for requirements regarding your car tags and license visit www.mydmv.arkansas.gov.