FAQ: How are committees formed?

Categories Committees

A recent rule change gives the Speaker of the House the power to assign every member to a committee.

However, there are other rules in place that ensure each committee represents all four corners of the state.

For standing committees, the Speaker selects 5 members from each House District Caucus. There are 4 equally divided District Caucuses in Arkansas based on population.

Each member serves on one “A” standing committee and one “B” standing committee. Each standing committee has 20 members. Most legislation begins in a standing committee.

Visit our committee page to learn about select and special committees.

Go Back View All FAQs