

## SPEAKER SHEPHERD APPOINTS TOMMY MAY TO INDEPENDENT CITIZENS COMMISSION

Little Rock, Arkansas (February 27, 2019) -

Arkansas House Speaker Matthew Shepherd has named Tommy May of Pine Bluff to serve on the Arkansas Independent Citizens Commission. Mr. May will serve a four-year term replacing Stephen Tipton whose term expired on December 31, 2018.

Mr. May is Chairman of the Simmons First Foundation. He is former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Simmons First National Corporation.

He currently serves on the University of Arkansas Campaign Arkansas Steering Committee, University of Arkansas Walton College of Business Dean's Executive Advisory Board, Arkansas Research Alliance Board, and the Arkansas Executive Forum. Mr. May previously served as Chairman of the Arkansas Bankers Association and Chairman of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees.

His honors include the James E. Harris Nonprofit Leadership Award, Sidney M. Brooks Fellow Award, Arkansas Sheriffs' Youth Ranch Children's Award, Arkansas Business Hall of Fame, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Chancellor's Award, University of Arkansas Sam M. Walton College of Business Lifetime Achievement Award and the University of Arkansas Chancellor's Medal. The Independent Citizens Commission was created in 2015 after Arkansas voters approved Amendment 94. The commission sets salaries of elected constitutional officers of the executive department, members of the General Assembly, justices, and judges. Amendment 94 states the Speaker of the Arkansas House is to make two appointments to the commission. In early February, Speaker Shepherd appointed Nathan Evers of El Dorado to serve on the commission.