

Speaker Shepherd Honored at 2024 CSG Southern Legislative

Conference



MATTHEW J. SHEPHERD

SPEAKER of the ARKANSAS HOUSE of REPRESENTATIVES

News Release

Arkansas House Speaker Matthew J. Shepherd was recently named the recipient of the 2024 Thomas B. Murphy Legacy Award from the Council of State Governments Southern Office during their annual Southern Legislative Conference.

The Thomas B. Murphy Legacy Award, formally known as the Longevity of Service Award, is presented to a Southern state legislator who has distinguished themselves by dutifully serving their constituents during their years in the legislature and actively participating in the Southern Legislative Conference.

"When selecting the recipient of the 2024 Thomas B. Murphy Legacy Award, we had many outstanding candidates to consider. However, several key factors distinguished Speaker Shepherd as the ideal choice for this honor," said Lindsey Gray, Regional Director of The Council of State Governments Southern Office. "His tenure as Speaker of the House, particularly in Arkansas where leadership roles frequently alternate, his adept navigation of complex issues, and the high regard in which fellow legislators hold him all contributed to our decision. We are proud to celebrate his resilient and consistent leadership by recognizing Speaker Shepherd with this award."

"I am deeply honored to receive this award, which represents not just my years in public service, but the trust and support of the people I have had the privilege to serve," said Shepherd. "I've learned so much from my colleagues in neighboring states and their recognition means a great deal."

Speaker Shepherd is the longest-serving Speaker of the Arkansas House of Representatives serving his third full term as Speaker. He represents District 97 which includes El Dorado and portions of Union County. He is serving his seventh term

in the House.

